Healthy Happy Skin

Hey Everyone!

I’ve been totally incognito here! Sorry ’bout that. My days seem to be increasingly more full. Regardless, I will not forget about you guys. Pinky promise. Good news! I will be starting a job in a new restaurant here in Jacksonville tomorrow, and I can’t wait to share my experiences there with you guys. Be looking for that in the near future. On another note, I’ve been thinking about starting a youtube channel for make up tutorials. Any one interested? Comment below if that’s the case. So much to say in so little time! Let’s get to the heart of today’s post. Or should I say skin 😉 That was cheesy, I know. I can’t help it.

In all seriousness, I have never had any luck having good skin. It’s either breaking out, too dry, blotchy and red, or occasionally all three. Although over the years I have found some products and tips that have really helped. Even if you don’t struggle with having imperfect skin, these tips will help your good skin stay healthy.

1) Dry brushing:

I swear by this in the winter. Dry brushing simply involves taking a natural bristle brush that is gentle enough and brushing your skin in long strokes, always towards the heart. This will improve blood and lymph circulation and help slough off dead skin cells so your skin can glow. This is only meant for your body though. Brushing your face will be too rough for it and can damage your skin further.

2) Saunas:

Ah, my favorite. Saunas have a similar effect to dry brushing as they will improve circulation to your skin. All that sweating will get rid of toxins in your body and purify your skin. Just be sure to hydrate properly before and after!

3) Tea Tree Oil

This stuff is amazing. If you struggle with acne, trust me, you need this in your life. Tea tree oil is naturally antibacterial so it gently kills the bacteria that creates acne without drying your skin out. The smell is a little odd at first, but it grows on you. I can’t live without this stuff now.

4) Retinol:

Retinol products help skin cell turn over to get rid of dark spots, scars, and acne. There are products over the counter with retinol in them or you can talk to your dermatologist about getting a prescription dose. Beware! Retinols are one of those things that can make it worse before it gets better. I’ve never had a problem using it, but some people experience redness and peeling. It should not be used if you have skin conditions such as psoriasis or if you are pregnant/breastfeeding.

5) A Good Nights Sleep:

Sleep gives your body time to restore itself. That’s why most skin care products should be used at night. Whenever I feel like I’m having a bad skin day I always try to get in a few extra Zzz’s that night to improve it. So take a nap! Do you really need any other excuse?

I hope you guys enjoyed these tips and tricks. Always to be used in addition to eating healthy and exercising of course! If you have any questions or just want to share your own tips please comment below. See you later,

The Navy Wife xoxo

 

(image from here)

Leave a Reply

